Spring is coming


I don’t know if it’s just me but I keep having this feeling of being perpetually stuck in between, neither here nor there. Everything and everyone else seems to have zoomed past me in a blink of an eye whilst I’m left here wondering if I’ll ever get to anywhere. Some days I feel like I’ve come a long way, and others I’d be chiding myself for falling so behind (ha, I actually have a paper on child soldiers waiting to be written as of now which I am putting off for a bit to write this post) but oh wells, such is the life of a student. I might as well enjoy whatever that’s left of my undergraduate years while I still can.

Last year, I took a break off pretty much everything to focus on living out my own life. As much as I am grateful to social media for giving me the opportunity to get to know (and even meet up with) some pretty amazing people, at some point it became too much (Twitter, I am looking at you). Now don’t get me wrong, I still stand by the fact that creating this blog is one of the best things that I’ve ever done in my life. After all, I wouldn’t have come across so many kindred spirits if it wasn’t for this blog (and the blogosphere, by extension). After all, this is where I’ve met my first pen-pal slash best friend (who I am still in touch with until today), my writer/blogger crush (!!!) and so many more beautiful souls that has been short of nothing but amazing to you. I remember being super sick this one time with no medications at hand, and one of my readers (another fellow blogger!) was kind enough to send me meds through the mail! T_____T

So yeah, like I said, it’s one of the best choices that I’ve ever made in my life. However, I had to leave to do some growing up on my own. For the longest time, I have lived vicariously through others (and especially through dramas) but one day it just dawned on me that I couldn’t possibly carry on like this forever. After all, dramas are just fictional but my life is right there waiting for me to make the most of it. When you reach a certain point in life you start to feel the time ticking, y’know?  I honestly cannot believe how much have changed in the span of two years. I’ve said a lot of hellos and goodbyes (this is what happens when you have different flatmates every year) and crossed quite a number of things off my bucket list (art exhibitions, festivals, concerts, lavender fields and whatnots), and actually you know what, I’ll be saying goodbye to good olde Reading town in about 5 months time.

Anyways…I am going to try (note how I said ‘try’ instead of promising fervently, ha) to do a personal recommendation corner every month or so just to share some of the things that I enjoy doing that particular month. I’ve always wanted to do something like this but alas, the fact that this blog was previously marketed as a drama/music review blog kind of made it impossible. I mean, I can imagine that it would have been weird if someone went on (what he/she thought was) a drama blog just to discover some random stuff on skincare recommendations and some insights on life, y’know?

Without further ado…here are some things that I’ve been really into as of late.
FOOD: Walker Sunbites in Sweet Chilli (my lifesaver when I’m in a dire need of a pick-me-up), Fortnum and Mason Pistachio and Clotted Cream Biscuits (pricey but if you feel like spoiling yourself a little bit, this is it!) , Fortnum and Mason Earl Grey Tea Biscuits (these biscuits actually genuinely taste like earl grey tea, and actually a little bit like matcha biscuits as well now that I think of it)
MUSIC: Khalil Fong – Moon River (one of my fav oldies reinterpreted with a slight modern twist whilst maintaining a hint of nostalgia) , Elsa Kopf – If (fav OST song from One More Happy Ending), 정승환 (Jung Seung Hwan) – 응급실 (Emergency Room)  (I already love the original song as it is but I also love this reinterpretation of the classic song)
MAKEUP: Maybelline Brow Satin (my to-go brow pencil for daily use, it is a decent brow pencil that won’t break the bank), Laneige – BB Cushion SPF 50+ (#21 Natural Beige) (I’ve been using for the past 2.5 years, this is good for those with oily and combination skin type!)
SKINCARE: Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm (I swear by this cleansing balm, am currently on my second tub), Pai Camellia and Rose Gentle Hydrating Cleanser (this is not only paraben free but it also leaves you feeling clean without stripping off the natural oils of your skin)
DRAMA: One More Happy Ending (4 more episodes of Jung Kyung-ho!)
YOUTUBE: Bubzvlogz (pretty sure Bubz needs no introduction, I love her vlogs!), OHHAIBELLE (shameless self-promo ha, no but really, check out my vlog channel)
BLOGS: Frassy (I’ve been reading her since I was 18, and I still do today. Her outfits are so well-thought but it’s her ‘give no shit’ attitude that shines through her writing that I love)
PHOTO:

Processed with VSCOcam with 5 preset

At the Tate, London (Feb 2016)

I hope that you’ve enjoyed reading this post as much as I have writing about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

